Solid Waste District

/Solid Waste District
Solid Waste District 2018-01-05T16:19:50+00:00

Clean Green Rush Recycle Logo

for more detailed information

Solid Waste Management District

Board of  Directors

Paul Wilkinson, Pres.
Bruce Levi
Mark Bacon
Warren Norris
Mike Pavey
Brian Conner
Bill Davis

District Director

Carole Yeend

Helping to keep Rush County CLEAN and GREEN by:

  • Maintaining and improving a system to effectively reduce the waste stream to landfills by promoting the reduction, re-use, and recycling of materials.

  • Providing a safe disposal location for household hazardous waste.

  • Educating community on the values and methods of recycling and pollution prevention.

Contact Information

Rush County Courthouse
101 East Second Street, Room 108
Rushville, Indiana 46173

Phone: 765-938-1342 or 317-407-3221
Fax: 765-938-1163

Office Hours: By Appointment

Tox-Away Center

Clean Green Rush Tox-Away Center is open to all Rush County residents on the first Saturday of each month from 8 a.m. to noon or by appointment.  It is located just beyond the animal shelter as 225 South Smiley Avenue.  Items accepted for disposal are oil-based paints and stains (no latex paint), pesticides, insecticides, aerosols, acids, bases, and other household chemicals, motor oil, gasoline,kerosene, antifreeze, non-alkaline batteries, fluorescents bulbs, mercury, refrigerators, freezers, air conditioners, and electronics (anything with a circuit board).  At this time there is no charge for these items.