## JOINT SESSION MEETING RUSH COUNTY COMMISSIONERS AND RUSH COUNTY COUNCIL April 25, 2024

The Rush County Commissioners and the Rush County Council met in a joint session Thursday, April 25, 2024, at 9:00 a.m. with Commissioners Mark Bacon, Ron Jarman, and Kenny Aulbach present. County Council Members in attendance were Charles Smith, Denny Corn, Amy Grocox, Janet Kile, Kyle Gardner, Scott Barnes, and Carl Harcourt. Auditor, Tammy Justice and County Attorney Leigh Morning were also present. The purpose of the joint session is to discuss a letter of support for a Lilly Endowment Grant.

Commissioner Mark Bacon called the Joint Session to order at 9:00 a.m.

Chris May with the Rush County Community Foundation updated the Commissioners and Council regarding the Fine (5) Million Dollar Lilly Endowment Grant with no match monies required. The grant is a community large scale grant that can be used for 50 miles of fiber and for blight elimination properties among other things. Discussion was held regarding signing a letter of support and even though no match is required, earmarking 1.1 million dollars of ARPA funds for the project to show local government support of the project. The ARPA committee met and unanimously decided to recommend earmarking the 1.1 million for this project. Amy Grocox made a motion on behalf of the County Council to approve the letter of support for the Lilly Endowment Grant. Seconded by Carl Harcourt. All were in favor. Motion carried. Denny Corn made a motion on behalf of the County Council to earmark ARPA funds in the amount of 1.1 million for the Lilly Endowment Grant. Seconded by Janet Kile. All were in favor. Motion carried. Ron Jarman made a motion on behalf of the County Commissioners to approve and sign the letter of support for the Lilly Endowment Grant. Seconded by Kenny Aulbach. All were in favor. Motion carried. Ron Jarman made a motion on behalf of the County Commissioners to earmark ARPA funds in the amount of 1.1 million for the Lilly Endowment Grant. Seconded by Kenny Aulbach. All were in favor. Motion carried.

Amy Grocox motioned to adjourn the Rush County Council joint session. Seconded by Denny Corn. All were in favor. Motion carried.

Ron Jarman motioned to adjourn the Rush County Commissioner joint session. Seconded by Kenny Aulbach. All were in favor. Motion carried.

Charles Smith, Chairman

Scott Barnes

Denny Corn

Janet Kile

Kyle Gardner

Carl Harcourt

Amy Grocox

ATTEST:

Tammy Justice, Auditor

/Mark Bacon/ Mark Bacon, Chairman /Ron Jarman/ Ron Jarman /Kenny Aulbach/ Kenny Aulbach

ATTEST: /Tammy Justice/ Tammy Justice, Auditor